Poppo

Standard

When I first starting writing this post I thought, “I want to make this a quick post, like ripping off a band aid.”  But the more I thought about it, even though what I am going to write doesn’t make me comfortable and it makes me face some emotions that I just don’t want to deal with right now I need to do it. I need to do it for my Poppo. Because quite frankly my Poppo deserves a nice post dedicated to him. So here it is:

On Thanksgiving Day, my Poppo went heaven. It wasn’t the Thanksgiving I thought I would be having. But, that is what it turned into. I don’t want to talk about the end or the day he died. I want to talk about my memories I have with him.

When I was little, I remember going to my Mommo and Poppo’s house and spending the night often. We would get up in the morning I would eat Cookie Crisp cereal, and I remember my Poppo in his robe reading his paper, drinking his black coffee. He had such a raspy voice in the morning. Poppo also grilled a mean pork steak, in fact he was a master griller. Delicious! I also remember tractor rides around the yard. That is something I remember looking forward to. Other great childhood memories I have; Easter egg hunts in his yard, him roller blading in our driveway, his lead foot (which is where I get mine), and a vacation to Nebraska.

My recent memories just include one thing. My kids. My Poppo loved my kids. I know all grandparents love their grandkids. But, my grandpa’s eyes literally sparkled when Gabrielle and Cooper came around. He was so very proud of them! He always wanted to show them off. He loved (loved is an understatement), that we named Cooper after his last name. He told everybody. I just can’t explain the loved that I know he had for them. It makes my heart hurt, to know that they won’t be able to know how great their great grandpa was. What a fun, loving, silly, sometimes big tempered, wonderful man he was.

I love you Poppo. I miss you so much. I know that you are with Mommo in heaven watching down over us.

About Danielle Hartsock

About Danielle I'm married to Jared. We have a beautiful daughter, Gabrielle and a handsome son, Cooper . We have a dog named, Domino, who I treat like my son. I have an amazing family. My friends are pretty great too! I am a Christian!! I teach. I procrastinate...A LOT. I love to blog, even though I am not good at it. I spend way too much time on the computer! THE END.

One response »

  1. Danielle what a great tribute to Poppo. You made me cry from the first sentence. You are right about so many things…but the love Poppo had for you “ALL” was so great. He was so very proud of you. Love you with all my heart. Mom

Leave a Reply

